Jessica LaFleur presents the Biblical account of Daniel in an oral interpretation of Scripture for the Talents For Christ presentation.

LANCASTER, PA. — High school students from across the country compete in twelve categories during the annual Talents For Christ competition, part of the 2007 National Conference of the General Association of Regular Baptist Churches.

The students have qualified for the annual event by placing first or second in state competitions. Judges chose several of the participants to perform in a concert on Thursday evening, with results of the individudual competition announced on Friday morning. Earlier in the day, Students Alive! director Scott Greening announced the winners in the group competition.

In in the afternoon business session, messengers to the 2007 National Conference elected new members to the Council of Eighteen:

  • Tom Alexander, Pastor – First Baptist Church (Wellington, Ohio)
  • Bryan Augsburger, Pastor – First Baptist Church (Arlington Heights, Illinois)
  • Robert Fields, Pastor – Germantown Hills Baptist Church (Metamora, Illinois)
  • James Maxwell III, President – Faith Baptist Bible College & Theological Seminary (Ankeny, Iowa)
  • Michael Peck, Vice President – Baptist Church Planters (Elyria, Ohio)
  • J.O. Purcell, Pastor – Tri County Baptist Church (The Villages, Florida)
  • Richard Van Heukelum, Pastor – Walnut Ridge Baptist Church (Waterloo, Iowa)

The continuing Council of Eighteen members are:

  • David Burman, Pastor – Brown Street Baptist Church (Alton, Illinois)
  • Duke Crawford, Pastor – Calvary Baptist Church (Mount Pleasant, Iowa)
  • Richard Dayton, Pastor – Urbandale Baptist Church (Urbandale, Iowa)
  • Miles Grismore, Pastor – Faith Baptist Church (Mason City, Iowa)
  • John Hartog III, Pastor – Faith Baptist Church (Cambridge, Iowa)
  • Stan Lightfoot III, Pastor – Rustic Hills Baptist Church (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
  • David Little, President – Baptist Church Planters (Elyria, Ohio)
  • Charles Pausley, Pastor – Willow Creek Baptist Church (West Des Moines, Iowa)
  • Robert Sauser, Pastor – First Baptist Church (Creston, Iowa)
  • Ken Spink, Pastor – Berea Baptist Church (Berea, Ohio)
  • David Strope, Pastor – Ankeny Baptist Church (Ankeny, Iowa)

Also in the afternoon business session, messengers to the 2007 National Conference approved three resolutions regarding the nature of the church.